top of page
Search

"Unleash the Beast"

My experience and reputation of drinking Monster energy drinks.



I first tried the popular energy drink, Monster, in third grade at my friend's lake house. Being young, I did not notice the affect it had on me and rarely drank it. Today I have rediscovered and fell in love with this caffeinated beverage.


Over this past summer, I drank Monster regularly as a refreshing drink by the pool or for cramming all-nighters. It became a life-line for me providing consistent energy. After realizing the benefits, but also the negative side-effects, I have reduced my Monster intake this school year.


Monster packs about 160mg of caffeine per 16oz can. This is an extremely high content, I highly recommend it when you are extremely tired. Personally, my favorites are Ultra Paradise, Pipeline Punch, and Ultra Blue.


The Monster motto, "unleash the beast" is very true, this drink gives you a jump-start for your day. When drinking one on Thursday, I needed a refresher and boost after school. On my way to work, I picked up an Ultra Paradise.


The energy drink helped me power through my shift without feeling sluggish or tired. It lasted approximately 4-6 hours. I had plenty of energy to work on my homework and study for a test after getting home from work at eight.


After completing my homework, I had no trouble falling asleep that night. Some forms of caffeine cause difficulty for me when I am trying to go to bed. Although I drank my Monster late in the afternoon, it's energy boost did not last long enough to where I was sleep-deprived the next morning.


Luckily, I have not experienced any bad side-effects when drinking Monster, but this type of energy drink is known to cause health issues.


The negative side-effects include heart palpitations / tachycardia, tremor/shaking, agitation/restlessness, gastrointestinal upset, chest pain/ischemia, dizziness/syncope, paresthesia (tingling or numbing of the skin), or insomnia.




Death from drinking energy drinks are very rare. Also, most side-effects are believed to be from prolonged drinking of various energy drinks. These side-effects have made me hesitant of my Monster intake.


Overall, I recommend Monster for an occasional energy boost. Monster is very powerful and will give you the energy you need to complete that last-minute paper, cram all night for an exam, or a busy night out with friends. I do not recommend drinking Monster for daily consumption because of its possible negative side-effects.


Wishing you all the best, hope this educated you and helped you make a wise decision when choosing the drink to energize you!


15 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page