top of page
Search

Caffeine Candy

As Halloween has passed, we find ourselves with boatloads of chocolate in this blog I will share my opinion on the sweet treat.


Many people know that chocolate has caffeine in it, but the real question is: Does chocolate have enough caffeine to notice?


Over the weekend I conducted an experiment. I raided all my sister's Halloween candy and picked out all the chocolate. There was not much variety only three main types, Snickers, M&M's, and Hershey's. I grouped them into groups of approximately twenty.


Over three days I decided to eat all the chocolate from my sister's Halloween bucket, she was mad to say the least. With quick persuasion and a greater compromise I was given permission to keep the candy.


Day 1(Snickers):


I started my day out with my normal breakfast a bagel, but instead of my cup of coffee I had two fun sized Snickers bars. I continued this throughout the school day. The Snickers bars did not make much difference in my day. They did not boost my energy at all. Snickers bar chocolate covering does have caffeine, but because of the small amount it did not give me energy.


Day 2(M&M's):


After the disappointing first day, I decided to have M&M's the next day. I assumed because there was only chocolate in M&M's that there would be more caffeine. As I munched on the candy throughout the day I noticed small changes in my alertness. I felt more alert in the morning than I normally did. This could have also been from the extra sleep I got. The extra energy did not last long, because I was dozing off at ten.


Day 3(Hershey's):


The last day, I tried the same experiment except with pure chocolate, Hershey's bars. Each bar has approximately 9mg of caffeine in it which should keep me somewhat energized if I eat a lot of them, but I did not notice much energy. Compared to my coffee and energy drinks, the chocolate bar was nothing, but Hershey's bars gave me more energy than both M&M's and Snickers.





I believe this candy is very tasty, and my personal favorite is Snickers. Although this candy is tasty, it should not be a sole source of caffeine. It just isn't enough. I believe the only reason to eat candy is for its taste to fill your sweet tooth. Energy benefits from candy are only sourced from the sugar. This is a good source and might help, but all sugar highs come to a fall shortly. These candies are delicious, but do not provide sufficient caffeine. For now, I'll stick to coffee.


15 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page